Comforting Quirk

It’s said that nothing great can happen inside of one’s comfort zone. I agree. I can tell you, with absolute certainty, that I grow only when I step into a state of slightly elevated anxiety.  But, there’s a problem with that. Who the hell wants to live in a state of slightly elevated anxiety all the time? Not me! Which is why, when I’m not paying close attention, I tend to allow silly soothing rituals and routines to completely to take over my life. Then, soon after, I end up feeling as if I’m stuck in a rut. That’s exactly where I am now—stuck in a rut. I want out!

One of the most common pieces of advice for getting out of one’s comfort zone is to do everyday things differently. For example… try new things, do the things you already do at different times of the day,  take different routes, talk to new people… You get the idea.

In the process of examining my habits, (so that I can decide what I’m going to shake up) it suddenly struck me how ridiculous one particular quirk of mine is. It’s not something I intend to change, but I feel as if I must tell you about it, because, holy crap, it’s bizarre!

For years now, I’ve been listening to the same song, Bryan Adams—One Night Love Affair at the beginning of every running session. It was only last night that I decided to question myself as to why. The best answer I could come up with was that the song has become a friend I depend for moral support. For me, the first 3-4 minutes of cardio is always the most challenging. I play One Night Love Affair at the start of each run, and I typically fall into my groove right before it ends. How and why I chose that song, I have absolutely no clue, but it really has become a crutch I depend on. The rest of the music on my running playlist is an ever changing assortment of new and old hits. One Night Love Affair is the only running song I’ve ever been faithful to.

 

5 thoughts on “Comforting Quirk

  1. For years, I too had the same song as the first one on my running playlist, but then I shook things up … and stopped running! Haha. I have every intention of starting up again, but I can’t even find that old iPod so I guess I’ll need a totally fresh start.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well? Are you going to tell us what you’re going to replace the song with? I love Moby/Move to run to and the theme song to Thor. HA! I like running to the same songs in the same order – let’s me know how good I’m doing in relation to the finish line. But that was another life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

