If We Were Having Coffee Right Now…

If we were having coffee right now, I’d confess that my mug contains herbal tea. According to the box it came from, it’s “cranberry”. It does, indeed, contain cranberry, but the flavour is completely undetectable amongst the other ingredients. Perhaps the manufacturer is referring to its colour?

INGREDIENTS: hibiscus flowers, lemon grass herb, birch leaves, cinnamon bark, natural flavours, juniper berries, citric acid, rosehips, star anise fruit, licorice root, cloves, cranberries.

If we were having coffee right now, I’d tell you that I skipped my morning pages. I woke up too tired to scribble words on a page. You know what that means? It means that all the junk in my noggin that normally gets transferred to the page before I get out of bed is still right where I left it. Not good, I tell ya!

If we were having coffee right now, I’d tell you that I forgot to shave the bottom half of my left leg this morning. I’m also blaming that oversight on being too tired.

If we were having coffee right now, I’d tell you that I dressed like a bag lady to go to work today. Why? Because, I could not stand the thought of putting on a real bra this morning. I wore a sports bra, a tank top with a neckline that drops lower than my sports bra, sweat pants and flip-flops.

If we were having coffee right now, I’d tell you that in the last few months I’ve been coming home with new clothes almost weekly, and I’ve tossed all my ratty ones, except for the pieces I wore to work today.

If we were having coffee right now, I’d tell you that I ordered an iPad mini 4. It will be here on Monday. I’m super excited! I also can’t freaking wait to kick the tablet I have now to the curb. Its battery life is somewhere in the vicinity of 5-7 minutes.

If we were having coffee right now, I’d tell you that work is going really well, which is why I can FINALLY afford to have things like clothes without holes and a tablet that works while disconnected from its power source.

If we were having coffee right now, I’d warn you that what I’m about to tell you is super weird. Are you ready? Don’t say I didn’t warn you! Here it is… I’m desperately missing a character from a dream I had yesterday morning. I tried to conjure him up again last night, but I had no luck. In the dream, he questioned me about a pattern of mine—a pattern I was completely unaware of until he brought it to light. In my waking life, that question probably would have put me on the defensive, but in my dream state, I perceived it to be more as a gift of enlightenment than as a criticism.  When I woke up, I tried to figure out if this was really “a thing” in my life. I’m inclined to believe that it is, but I’m not really sure. I need to figure this out, and strongly believe I need him to help me work through it. Where this gets super weird is that the guy from my dream is a real person. He sent me a Facebook friend request a month (or two, or three) ago.  We have a few mutual (local) Facebook friends, but I chose to “ignore” his request because I had no freaking clue who he was. Now, I’m kicking myself in the arse! Was I supposed to “accept” his request? Will our paths cross again? I really hope so.

Now it’s your turn. What would you tell me if we were having coffee right now?

8 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee Right Now…

  1. If we were having coffee right now: I’d be up for the rest of the night because of the caffeine. And then I believe the crux of the conversation would be around “things” – why we buy them, why we keep them, and why we store them, because I will tell you I am about tired of trying to figure out what to do with my things. PS – LOVE your dream, we’d talk more about that too!

    Like

    • I’d be up the rest of the night too if I had coffee. I been off the stuff for two and a half months. Fell off the wagon twice in that time, and deeply regretted it both times (it made me sick).

      I’d dive right into the “things” discussion with you. In spite of this post talking about how I’ve been buying “things” lately, it’s soooooo not me. I normally agonize over spending money on stuff, and when I do have money to spend, I hate bringing stuff home unless I know I have a spot for it. Clutter drives me bonkers! I know your storage situation is weighing heavy on you, but I am certain you’re handling it a thousand percent better than I would. You’re handling everything you’re going through soooooo much better than I would. I admire you for that. 😀

      My dream hasn’t left my mind for a second since I woke up at 6am yesterday. I NEED to meet that guy! NOW!

      Like

      • Ok I think I’ve got it! The man represents something “good” that was in your grasp at one point and you let get away. Even though there were signs that you could have/should have trusted this allegiance (by the fact that other people knew him too) you let it slip away – you have to think about “why” you let it slip away – was it fear? ego? pride? . But now something in you is stirring and you want to be connected with that aspect of yourself again – desperately. It’s whatever that aspect of yourself represents that you want to reconnect with…now. Not the actual person.
        And this is what I came up with on my morning walk on the beach. Not bad if I do say so myself.

        Like

      • Haha. With all you’ve got going on, you’re thinking about me on your morning beach walk. 😀 I think you’re partly right. Let me break it down….

        I don’t want to share what the question he asked me was, because it’s too personal for public consumption. It wasn’t really a “good” thing. His question shined a light on a behaviour I had not taken notice of on my own, and that’s not really serving me. I woke up before I fully processed my answer. I’m still struggling to figure out why this person made his way into my dream. It doesn’t feel like a “regular dream”.

        I can’t see the connection with Facebook, other than if I didn’t remember him from there, I probably wouldn’t have dreamt about him. 99% of what I post to Facebook is set to “public”, because I believe that if I don’t feel comfortable with everyone seeing it, it shouldn’t be posted on the internet. I just don’t want my Facebook posts regularly showing up on the newsfeeds of random “friend collectors”, nor do I want their post showing up on mine. I get friend requests from strangers all the time. Earlier today, I got a request from some guy I have 18 Facebook friends in common with. I ignored his request too.

        Where I do think you are correct, is the part about connecting with an aspect of myself, not him. The dream gave me a new lens to see myself through. I could take what I it taught me and observe my behavior with anyone. It doesn’t have to be him. I just have this feeling (because I can’t shake the connection I felt in the dream) to complete the discovery process with him.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. If we were having coffee right now, I’d ask a really dumb question: can’t you go back and see your old friend requests and figure out who this guy is? )Or do I not know how Facebook works?) Also, I’d probably be in Nova Scotia since you hate to travel and I love to, and so I’d be rally happy to be escaping for a few days to your seemingly charming island before it gets too cold!

    Like

    • After I ignore, it goes away. Before I ignored the request, I looked through his profile to try and figure out if we had met. I’m sure we haven’t, so I didn’t accept. I get request from people I don’t know often (probably one a week). I’m not a ” friend collector”. I don’t accept everyone. I do know his name and we have 8 mutual friends. I could find him easily, but what do I say, “hey, I you were in one of my dreams and now I need you to be my friend?” If you were in Cape Breton, you’d need rubber boots. Maybe even a canoe in some parts. It’s wet!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

